American Values
» Read More
Crisis in the Americas
» Read More
Energy Independence
» Read More
» Read More
Missile Defense
» Read More

Congressional Advisory Board

The History of the American Security Council Foundation’s Congressional Advisory Board dates back to the 1960’s, when Congressmen would approach the Foundation for information on national security that they were not able to find out themselves.

With the Foundation’s “National Security Report” making the rounds in the Capitol, it was a natural fit for the Foundation to use resources of former military officers, State Department Officials, and scholars to educated legislators. 

The Foundation also offered a platform for Congressmen and Senators to seek-out coalition partners and corporations willing to fund relief missions and awareness programs.  One famous member of the CAB, famed Congressman Charlie Wilson a Democrat from Texas (see left) was very active.  His involvement in Afghanistan’s war with the Russians has been highly publicized.  Wilson gives General Abdul Rashid Dostum of the Northern Alliance an Award from The American Security Council Foundation for ending Soviet occupation in Afghanistan.

As the Foundation grew in prominence freshman members of the U.S. House of Representatives attended Foundation sponsored retreats, which informed them of the threats and capabilities of America’s adversaries.  Below is a picture of now Minority Leader John Boehner of Ohio and Congressman Sam Johnson of Texas.  Congressman Johnson is a retired Air Force veteran and former POW; he is a staunch supporter of promoting ''Peace Through Strength''.  

The other Congressmen in the picture are retired from Congress, the picture was taken at the ASCF Conference Center in Boston, Virginia.  November 1991.  

 Congressional Advisory Board:

Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO)

Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Michael Burgees, MD (R-TX)

Tom Latham (R-IA)

Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)

Howard ''Buck'' McKeon (R-CA)

Joseph Pitts (R-PA)

Bill Posey (R-FL)

Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)

Fred Upton (R-MI)